Early day motion 1082

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Colombian Constitutional Court's decision to order the Colombian government to protect 34 indigenous groups at risk of extinction; is deeply concerned by the Colombian government's slowness to respond to the order made in 2009 and by the fact that none of the survival plans have been fully implemented; notes that mining in indigenous territories is contributing to the risk of extinction; further welcomes the Constitutional Court's suspension of mining operations at the Mandé Norte project in Embera Katio indigenous territory given the irregularities in the prior consultation process under United Nations International Labour Organization Convention 169, to which Colombia is a signatory; further notes that British-registered corporation Rio Tinto Mining and Exploration Limited has a 70 per cent joint venture option on exploitation rights at Mandé Norte project; is concerned that the Embera Katio indigenous leaders resisting mining in their territories have been threatened; calls on the Colombian government to ensure the right of the indigenous people to prior consent is upheld; further calls on the UK Government to encourage the Colombian government to uphold the rights of indigenous peoples; and further calls on the UK Government to raise these concerns with the Colombian government and to monitor the implementation of the survival plans, particularly that of the Awá peoples.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 13.02.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 26.02.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.02.2013
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 13.02.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.02.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 26.02.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.02.2013
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 25.02.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.02.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 28.02.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 13.02.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 25.02.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.02.2013
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 13.02.2013
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 13.02.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 27.02.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 13.02.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 27.02.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 27.02.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.03.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 26.02.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 14.02.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 26.02.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 13.02.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 14.02.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 26.02.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 06.03.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 25.02.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 26.02.2013
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 13.02.2013