Early day motion 1080

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply disturbed that on the second anniversary of pro-democracy protests in Bahrain there continues to be widespread reports of human rights violation in the kingdom; notes with alarm the recent report from Human Rights Watch highlighting that in 2012 Bahraini authorities used excessive force to suppress peaceful protests, denied opposition groups permits to demonstrate, revoked the citizenship of 31 political opponents of the government and jailed and conducted further reprisals against human rights defenders for participating in peaceful demonstrations; draws particular attention to the two year imprisonment of the President of the Bahrain Centre for Human Rights, Mr Nabeel Rajab, for organising and participating in three demonstrations in early 2012; highlights the decision by Bahrain's Ministry of Health to dismiss eight medical professionals who provided care to protesters during 2011; further notes with anxiety that on 7 January 2013, the Court of Cassation upheld the convictions and lengthy prison terms of 13 prominent dissidents, including life imprisonment for seven defendants for exercising their rights to free expression and peaceful assembly in protests in 2011; believes the Bahraini government has failed to carry out the recommendations of the Independent Commission of Inquiry; and calls on the UK Government to unequivocally condemn human rights abuses in Bahrain and put every diplomatic pressure on the Bahraini government to enter into a meaningful dialogue with opposition groups to secure a long term political settlement based on democratic principles.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 28.02.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 25.02.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 26.02.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 13.02.2013
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 13.02.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 14.02.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 26.02.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.02.2013
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 25.02.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.02.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 26.02.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 28.02.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.02.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.03.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 27.02.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.03.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 14.02.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 26.02.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 14.02.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 06.03.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 26.02.2013