Early day motion 1071

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned that the BBC is refusing to enter into meaningful negotiations with the National Union of Journalists (NUJ) on behalf of its members and is instead insisting on compulsory redundancies of BBC journalists rather than the redeployment of posts under an agreed scheme as requested by the NUJ; notes that despite extensive efforts by NUJ representatives and officials, a number of workers across BBC Scotland, the Asian Network, Newsbeat, News, Five Live, the Big Screens, the World Service and English Regions still risk compulsory redundancy as part of the Delivering Quality First programme which plans more than 2,000 job losses across the corporation; believes that in externally advertising six-month contracts to journalists who do not work for the corporation, at the same time as failing to secure redeployment opportunities for workers at risk of compulsory redundancy, some managers, such as those at BBC Scotland are failing to uphold key aspects of the redeployment agreement, let alone the spirit of the deal; and therefore calls on the BBC to enter into genuine and meaningful negotiations with the NUJ as a matter of urgency in order to resolve this dispute and considers that failing that strike action on 18 February 2013 by NUJ members in the BBC would be both inevitable and justified.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 28.02.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.02.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.02.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 26.02.2013
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 27.02.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.02.2013
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 13.02.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.02.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 26.02.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.02.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 25.02.2013
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 13.02.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 26.02.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 25.02.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 27.02.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 25.02.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 14.03.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.03.2013
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 27.02.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 25.02.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 27.02.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.02.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 26.02.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.02.2013
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 12.02.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 27.02.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 25.02.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 25.03.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 13.02.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 14.02.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 25.02.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 14.02.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 13.02.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 26.02.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.02.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 25.02.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 04.03.2013