Early day motion 107

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House celebrates the cultural and economic contributions of musicians to society; is concerned that airlines' regulations regarding the carriage of musical instruments remain inconsistent and can even vary within airlines; recognises the intrinsic and crucial value of musical instruments for musicians; notes that damage to these instruments may be sustained if musicians are required to place them in the hold rather than carry them in the cabin; supports the Incorporated Society of Musicians in its campaign for all airlines to adopt a minimum standard agreement to allow musicians to carry a musical instrument as an additional item of hand baggage on flights, if the item is guitar-sized or smaller; welcomes the success of the Instruments on Planes campaign in negotiating with one airline, which announced on 12 January 2011 a new musician-friendly baggage policy; further notes that the US, which is the UK's closest competitor for music exports, has already legislated on the issue under the FAA Modernization and Reform Act 2012; and calls on the Government to publish non-binding guidance for airlines on the carriage of music instruments in the cabin of aircraft.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 39

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 39 out of 39

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.06.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.05.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 18.06.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.05.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.06.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.06.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 22.05.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 21.06.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 23.05.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 25.06.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.06.2012
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 19.06.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 22.05.2012
Hemming, John [R] Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 26.06.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 23.05.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.05.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 11.06.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 23.05.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 12.06.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 20.06.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 14.06.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.05.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.05.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 26.06.2012
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 13.06.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 23.05.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 24.05.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 13.06.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 11.06.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 21.06.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 22.05.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 12.06.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 25.06.2012
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 14.06.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 11.06.2012
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 02.07.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 22.05.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 25.06.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 20.06.2012