Early day motion 1067

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes the withdrawal of the education maintenance allowance (EMA) was a grave error because this scheme had allowed 16 to 19 year olds from some of the poorest families access to further education; notes that its abolition has had a hugely detrimental impact according to UCAS figures with 56,000 fewer students staying on in the last academic year; and calls on the Government to restore the EMA, which would require only a modest investment, would broaden access to education and benefit the economy as a whole.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 63

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 63 out of 63

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 28.02.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 14.02.2013
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 27.02.2013
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 12.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.02.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.02.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 04.03.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 12.02.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 12.02.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 14.02.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 26.02.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 04.03.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 28.02.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 27.02.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.02.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.02.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 13.02.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 28.02.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 18.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.02.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 26.02.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.02.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 13.02.2013
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 07.03.2013
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 12.03.2013
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 04.03.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 12.02.2013
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 26.02.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 07.03.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 14.03.2013
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 05.03.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.03.2013
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 28.02.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 27.02.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.02.2013
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 12.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.02.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 25.03.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 27.02.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.03.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 18.04.2013
Nash, Pamela Labour Party Airdrie and Shotts 21.03.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 13.02.2013
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 27.02.2013
Powell, Lucy Labour Party Manchester Central 25.03.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 27.02.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 14.02.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 13.02.2013
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 28.02.2013
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 12.03.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 05.03.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.02.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 13.02.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.02.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 04.03.2013
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 18.03.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 25.02.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 28.02.2013
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 26.02.2013
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 27.02.2013
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 12.02.2013
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 05.03.2013
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 05.03.2013