Early day motion 1060

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recalls that on 14 February 1963 Harold Wilson became leader of the Labour Party and subsequently served as Prime Minister from 1964 to 1970 and from 1974 to 1976 when he was forced to retire due to ill-health; notes that it was during Wilson's governments that capital punishment was abolished, homosexuality ceased to be a crime and abortion laws were radically reformed; further recalls the rapid rise in higher education opportunities during the Wilson years including the establishment of the Open University and polytechnics and that Wilson insisted on keeping Britain out of the Vietnam War, but within NATO, and gave the people of Britain a referendum on Europe; declares its surprise that no full-length statue of Harold Wilson exists in Westminster; and calls for early action to commission a statue equal in quality to that which stands in St George's Square in his home town of Huddersfield.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 24

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 24 out of 24

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 28.02.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 14.02.2013
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 14.02.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.02.2013
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 25.02.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 13.02.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 26.02.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 04.03.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.02.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 26.02.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 28.02.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.02.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 13.02.2013
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 27.02.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 27.02.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.03.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 26.02.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.02.2013
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 26.02.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 04.03.2013
Sawford, Andy Labour Party Corby 28.02.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 13.02.2013
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 12.02.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 25.02.2013