Early day motion 106

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that an estimated 80,000 women and girls in the UK are at risk of female genital mutilation (FGM), 24,000 of whom are girls under the age of 15 years; further notes that these procedures have no health benefits and are recognised internationally as a violation of human rights; acknowledges FGM as an important public interest issue, as it physically and mentally damages young women; further acknowledges there can be serious complications with pregnancy and childbirth if a woman has undergone FGM; welcomes the work of the Female Genital Mutilation National Clinical Group; commends its encouragement of healthcare professionals including midwives, obstetricians, nurses, public health professionals, community workers, policy makers, police and others to work together to identify women and girls who are at risk, to support those who have already suffered and to prevent the practice of FGM; further welcomes the new legal guidance issued by the Crown Prosecution Service; looks forward to an increase from zeroin the number of prosecutions brought for offences relating to FGM; and calls for politicians, professionals and communities to continue towork in partnership to bring an end to the practice of female genital mutilation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 54

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 54 out of 54

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 23.05.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 22.05.2012
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 11.06.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.05.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.05.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 26.11.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.05.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.06.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 23.05.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 20.06.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 22.05.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 23.05.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 25.06.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 22.05.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.05.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.06.2012
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 11.06.2012
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 23.05.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 22.05.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 26.06.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 13.06.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 23.05.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.05.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 11.06.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 23.05.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 24.05.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 12.06.2012
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 11.06.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 25.06.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 11.06.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 14.06.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.05.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 05.07.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.05.2012
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 13.06.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 23.05.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 24.05.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 14.06.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 13.06.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 11.06.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 23.05.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 22.05.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 25.06.2012
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 14.06.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 13.06.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 11.06.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 23.05.2012
Stanley, John Conservative Party Tonbridge and Malling 10.07.2012
Stephenson, Andrew Conservative Party Pendle 05.09.2012
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 11.09.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 22.05.2012
Whittaker, Craig Conservative Party Calder Valley 02.07.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 20.06.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 23.05.2012