Early day motion 1023

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Government's commitment to a statutory code of practice for pub companies, overseen by an independent adjudicator, which will enshrine in law the prime principle that a tied licensee is no worse off than a free of tie licensee; believes this is great news for tied pubs and will deal with the fundamental problem that large pub owning companies take too much from pub profit than is fair or sustainable through double overcharging of inflated beer prices and high rents; further believes the best way to stop this is to offer all tied licensees (of companies covered by the code) a rent-only agreement, based on independently assessed market rent, alongside tied agreements; notes this is not abolishing the tie, it involves licensees who choose this option paying market rent to the pub owning company who retain ownership of the pub and therefore allowing pub owning companies to continue offering competitive tied agreements which should offer lower than market rents in return for higher product prices; further believes this is the simplest way to deliver the Government's commitment and also that it is a market based solution using market rent as a benchmark rather than directly regulating rent and tied product pricing levels, which is the alternative way to do so; and further notes that both rent only and fair-tied agreements would be a low cost entry to the trade but, unlike many current agreements, would be based on a fair balance of risk and reward for both licensees and pub owning companies.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Aldous, Peter Conservative Party Waveney 12.02.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 06.02.2013
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 05.02.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.02.2013
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 12.02.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.02.2013
Carmichael, Neil Conservative Party Stroud 10.02.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.02.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 25.02.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.02.2013
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 12.02.2013
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 25.02.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 26.02.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 07.02.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.02.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.02.2013
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 25.02.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 12.02.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 13.02.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.02.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 05.02.2013
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 05.02.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 07.02.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 07.02.2013
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 13.02.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 13.02.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 06.03.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 14.02.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 14.02.2013
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 27.02.2013