Early day motion 1019

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that Britain can rightly be proud of its history of welcoming those fleeing persecution and war; welcomes the cross-party parliamentary report on asylum support for children and families; notes with concern the finding of that report that current asylum support levels are leaving up to 10,000 children destitute or in severe poverty; further believes that section 4 support rates are especially austere and that cashless payments impose damaging restrictions on how families buy essential items; further notes that asylum support rates have not been increased since April 2011; regrets that the previous Government broke the historic link between support rates for asylum seekers and income support; calls on the Government to increase asylum support rates so that they are at least equal to 70 per cent of income support and to up-rate support rates annually; and further calls on the Government to abolish section 4 support and implement a single cash-based support system.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 41

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 41 out of 41

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 20.03.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.02.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.02.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 24.04.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.02.2013
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 19.03.2013
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 26.03.2013
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 25.02.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 06.02.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 07.03.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 05.02.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 25.03.2013
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 25.02.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.02.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 26.02.2013
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 11.02.2013
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.03.2013
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 11.02.2013
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 27.02.2013
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 14.02.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 12.02.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 27.02.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 13.02.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 12.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.02.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 15.04.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 25.03.2013
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 25.02.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 07.02.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 27.02.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 13.02.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 06.02.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.02.2013
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent Central 05.02.2013
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 17.04.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 14.02.2013
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 17.04.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 19.03.2013
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 07.02.2013
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 06.03.2013
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 15.04.2013