Early day motion 1000

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is disappointed that despite a unanimous vote in Parliament calling for an investigation, the Office of Fair Trading (OFT) has refused to hold a full inquiry into allegations of anti-competitive behaviour in the petrol and diesel market; notes that their decision is despite evidence of market abuse handed to them by hundreds of independent petrol stations, transport firms, small businesses and members of the public through RMI Petrol, the AA, petrolpromise.com and FairFuelUK; further notes that even the OFT report admits that over the last 10 years the combined gross margin for refining, wholesaling and retailing has increased by 3.4 pence per litre for petrol and 7.2 pence per litre for diesel and that taking account of inflation, this represents an increase in real terms of 14 per cent for petrol and 41 per cent for diesel; and therefore calls on the OFT to reconsider its decision not to hold a full inquiry and to step up the pressure on the oil companies and financial speculators who are pushing up prices at the pump.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Aldous, Peter Conservative Party Waveney 01.02.2013
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 05.02.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 31.01.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 04.02.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 13.02.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 04.02.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 06.02.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.03.2013
Halfon, Robert Conservative Party Harlow 30.01.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 26.02.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 12.02.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 05.02.2013
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 11.02.2013
McCartney, Karl Conservative Party Lincoln 01.02.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 06.02.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 12.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 05.02.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.01.2013
Newmark, Brooks Conservative Party Braintree 11.03.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 07.02.2013
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 05.02.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 12.02.2013
Sawford, Andy Labour Party Corby 07.02.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 05.02.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 06.02.2013
Walker, Robin Conservative Party Worcester 01.02.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 06.02.2013
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 27.02.2013
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 13.02.2013