Early day motion 994

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned by the impact of the 27 per cent. budget cut to the Charity Commission announced in the Comprehensive Spending Review (CSR); notes that the Commission shed 63 full-time equivalent jobs before the CSR and that the PCS union fears that a further 140 full-time equivalent jobs will also be lost; recognises the critically important role of the Commission in regulating and advising charities; further notes that fraud in the charitable sector is estimated to be 100 million annually; is deeply concerned at the impact further reductions in staff and resources will have on the Commission's ability to rigorously investigate allegations of fraud, particularly allegations of charitable funds being diverted to organisations with links to terrorism; is alarmed at cuts to the Commision at a time whenthe role of charities will be hugely expanded; and calls upon the Government to review the Charity Commission's budget settlement.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 18.11.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 12.11.2010
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 11.01.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.11.2010
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 13.12.2010
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 18.11.2010
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 07.12.2010
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 15.11.2010
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 09.12.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.11.2010
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 11.11.2010
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 19.11.2010
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 11.11.2010
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 22.11.2010
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 15.11.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 17.11.2010
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.11.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 16.11.2010
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 17.11.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.11.2010
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 17.11.2010
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 12.11.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.11.2010
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 29.11.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.11.2010
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 24.11.2010
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 06.12.2010
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 23.11.2010
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.11.2010
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 16.11.2010
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 09.12.2010
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 11.11.2010
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 16.11.2010
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 17.11.2010