Early day motion 943

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses deep concern over the sudden, unexpected announcement of the removal of education maintenance allowances (EMAs) from 16 to 19 year olds; notes that EMAs have supported the widening of participation, raising of aspiration and growth in higher attainment levels amongst young people; and believes that their removal is likely to disadvantage seriously young people in lower socio-economic groups and from minority backgrounds in continuing their education, and that itwill be to the detriment of the whole country.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 62

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 62 out of 62

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 20.01.2011
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 18.01.2011
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 18.01.2011
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 30.11.2010
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 03.12.2010
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 20.12.2010
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 04.11.2010
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 02.11.2010
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 20.01.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 03.11.2010
Chapman, Jenny Labour Party Darlington 21.01.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.11.2010
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 03.11.2010
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 15.11.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 03.11.2010
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 02.12.2010
Creasy, Stella Labour Party Walthamstow 18.01.2011
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 19.01.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 11.01.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 02.11.2010
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 03.11.2010
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 09.11.2010
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 13.12.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 02.11.2010
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 17.01.2011
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 16.12.2010
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 08.11.2010
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 31.01.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 17.01.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 30.11.2010
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 08.11.2010
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 01.12.2010
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 16.11.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.11.2010
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 04.11.2010
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 09.11.2010
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 18.01.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 02.12.2010
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.11.2010
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 18.01.2011
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 12.01.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 21.01.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 09.12.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.11.2010
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 08.11.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 03.11.2010
Michael, Alun Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 09.11.2010
Miliband, David Labour Party South Shields 14.12.2010
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.01.2011
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 15.12.2010
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 18.01.2011
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 23.11.2010
Reynolds, Emma Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 25.01.2011
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 02.11.2010
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 09.11.2010
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 09.12.2010
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 06.12.2010
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 17.01.2011
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 17.01.2011
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 30.11.2010
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 08.11.2010
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 02.12.2010