Early day motion 853

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that there is a climate emergency and that the catastrophic destabilisation of the global climate represents one of the greatest threats that humanity faces; further recognises that there is a need to reduce the atmospheric concentration of carbon dioxide to 350 parts per million or below; further believes it is impossible to predict how close the world is to dangerous tipping points, and that immediate action is required to enact a programme of emergency measures with substantial emissions reductions in the short term of the order of 10 per cent. within one year, with a longer-term goal of achieving a Zero Carbon Britain by 2030; further believes that at least two hours of prime time television per week should be used to explain the gravity of the crisis to the public, that domestic flights should be phased out, a speed limit of 55 miles per hour introduced and unabated coal usage reduced; further believes that investment in greening the economy can be an effective way of reviving the economy and, in that spirit, urgent investment should be made in energy efficiency and renewable energy, public transport and the retro-fitting of efficient insulation to existing housing stock, leading to the creation of a million green jobs within one year; and further believes that the introduction of such measures would send a positive signal to other countries in the negotiations for an international emissions reductions treaty.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 20.10.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 19.10.2010
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 08.11.2010
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 21.10.2010
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 09.11.2010
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 01.11.2010
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 26.04.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 16.11.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 21.10.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 22.10.2010
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 26.04.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 20.10.2010
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 21.10.2010
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 10.11.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 18.10.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 19.10.2010
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 19.10.2010
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 21.10.2010
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 20.10.2010
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 17.05.2011