Early day motion 701

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates Swansea University on establishing Academi Hywel Teifi in memory of the distinguished Welsh academic, the late Professor Hywel Teifi Edwards of Aberarth and Llangennech; recognises that the Academi's purposes are to promote learning and teaching through the medium of the Welsh language throughout the community and scholarship through the medium of the language; places on record its appreciation of the outstanding life and work of Professor Edwards as a teacher, scholar, broadcaster, politician and defender and promoter of the Welsh language and especially in supporting Welsh learners; recalls with pride that the winner of the Chair at this year's National Eisteddfod in Blaenau Gwent was Swansea University's Tudur Hallam whose verse was a celebration of Professor Edwards' devoted and enthusiastic commitment to Wales, its culture, its people and its future; and notes that the new Academi will build on the progress in recent years of the Welsh language being a source of pride for all communities in Wales, rather than a cause of division.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Brennan, Kevin Labour Party Cardiff West 08.09.2010
Bryant, Chris Labour Party Rhondda 08.09.2010
Cairns, Alun Conservative Party Vale of Glamorgan 08.09.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.10.2010
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 08.09.2010
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 11.10.2010
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 08.09.2010
Davies, Glyn Conservative Party Montgomeryshire 08.09.2010
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 08.09.2010
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 08.09.2010
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 08.09.2010
Francis, Hywel [R] Labour Party Aberavon 08.09.2010
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 08.09.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 14.09.2010
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 08.09.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.09.2010
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 08.09.2010
Jones, Susan Elan Labour Party Clwyd South 08.09.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 15.09.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 13.09.2010
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 08.09.2010
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 15.09.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.09.2010
Michael, Alun Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 08.09.2010
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 08.09.2010
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 13.09.2010
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 08.09.2010
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 08.09.2010
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 08.09.2010
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 09.09.2010