Early day motion 650

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House supports the Robin Hood tax campaign which calls for the introduction of a financial transactions tax; notes that by taking an average of 0.05 per cent. from speculative banking transactions, hundreds of billions of pounds could be raised every year to tackle poverty and climate change, at home and abroad; believes that banks, which had a large role in causing the economic crisis, should do more than just pay back the bailouts or insure against future crises; further believes that a Robin Hood tax would be an effective and popular response, with a recent poll finding that 80 per cent. of respondents supported the introduction of a Robin Hood tax; commends the work of all those organisations backing this campaign who have mobilised their supporters to increase the pressure for such change; further believes that this tax is an idea that has come of age; and urges the Government to do all possible to ensure that the Robin Hood tax becomes a reality.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 47

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 47 out of 47

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abrahams, Debbie Labour Party Oldham East and Saddleworth 19.05.2011
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 08.09.2010
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 07.09.2010
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 07.09.2010
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 11.10.2010
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 07.09.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 07.09.2010
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 06.09.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 27.07.2010
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 06.09.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 06.09.2010
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 06.09.2010
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.09.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 06.09.2010
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 09.09.2010
Greenwood, Lilian Labour Party Nottingham South 08.09.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 06.09.2010
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 07.09.2010
Hilling, Julie Labour Party Bolton West 16.09.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.12.2010
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 27.07.2010
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 06.09.2010
Jones, Graham Labour Party Hyndburn 07.09.2010
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 06.09.2010
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 09.09.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 27.07.2010
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 09.09.2010
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 15.09.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 13.09.2010
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 18.10.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 06.09.2010
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 07.09.2010
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 08.09.2010
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 06.09.2010
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 13.09.2010
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 15.11.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 15.09.2010
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 13.09.2010
Reeves, Rachel Labour Party Leeds West 06.09.2010
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 27.07.2010
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.09.2010
Shuker, Gavin Labour Party Luton South 11.10.2010
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 07.09.2010
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 27.07.2010
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 11.10.2010
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 30.06.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 15.09.2010