Early day motion 613

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that in 2002 the Electoral Commission, following consultations on the holding of a possible referendum on the euro on the same day as other elections on 1 May 2003, issued a statement making clear that referendums on fundamental issues of national importance should be considered in isolation and that they should not be held at the same time as devolved assembly or local government elections; further notes that in a recent report the House of Lords Constitution Committee recommended that there should be a presumption against holding referendums on the same day as elections; recognises that this advice is in accordance with best constitutional practice in countries such as Switzerland, where referendums are more regularly held; believes that this constitutional practice should be observed unless there are very exceptional reasons for it to be set aside; is concerned at the proposal to hold the referendum on whether to change the voting system on 5 May 2011, which is the same day as elections to the Scottish Parliament, the National Assembly for Wales and to local authorities in Northern Ireland, but only in parts of England; further believes that this proposal would allow other issues to cloud the referendum debate before the vote, would artificially inflate turnout in some parts of the country but not others, and that it may accordingly advantage one campaign at the expense of the other; proposes that any referendum on this issue should therefore be held on a different date; and looks forward to advice from the Electoral Commission on this matter which is consistent with its previous statements.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 56

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 56 out of 56

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 26.07.2010
Bacon, Richard Conservative Party South Norfolk 26.07.2010
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 26.07.2010
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 07.09.2010
Bone, Peter Conservative Party Wellingborough 26.07.2010
Bridgen, Andrew Conservative Party North West Leicestershire 26.07.2010
Carswell, Douglas Conservative Party Clacton 26.07.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 07.09.2010
Chope, Christopher Conservative Party Christchurch 27.07.2010
Clappison, James Conservative Party Hertsmere 26.07.2010
Coffey, Therese Conservative Party Suffolk Coastal 26.07.2010
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 26.07.2010
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 09.09.2010
Davies, Glyn Conservative Party Montgomeryshire 26.07.2010
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 08.09.2010
Davis, David Conservative Party Haltemprice and Howden 26.07.2010
Docherty, Thomas Labour Party Dunfermline and West Fife 06.09.2010
Dorries, Nadine Conservative Party Mid Bedfordshire 26.07.2010
Field, Mark Conservative Party Cities of London and Westminster 26.07.2010
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 26.07.2010
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 09.09.2010
Jenkin, Bernard Conservative Party Harwich and Essex North 26.07.2010
Kawczynski, Daniel Conservative Party Shrewsbury and Atcham 26.07.2010
Knight, Greg Conservative Party Yorkshire East 26.07.2010
Laing, Eleanor Conservative Party Epping Forest 26.07.2010
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 09.09.2010
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 26.07.2010
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 26.07.2010
Liddell-Grainger, Ian Conservative Party Bridgwater and Somerset West 26.07.2010
Lilley, Peter Conservative Party Hitchin and Harpenden 26.07.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 13.09.2010
Lopresti, Jack Conservative Party Filton and Bradley Stoke 26.07.2010
MacShane, Denis Labour Party Rotherham 27.07.2010
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 07.09.2010
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 08.09.2010
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 06.09.2010
McPartland, Stephen Conservative Party Stevenage 26.07.2010
Mercer, Patrick Conservative Party Newark 26.07.2010
Mosley, Stephen Conservative Party City of Chester 26.07.2010
Nuttall, David Conservative Party Bury North 26.07.2010
Ottaway, Richard Conservative Party Croydon South 26.07.2010
Percy, Andrew Conservative Party Brigg and Goole 26.07.2010
Reckless, Mark Conservative Party Rochester and Strood 26.07.2010
Redwood, John Conservative Party Wokingham 26.07.2010
Rees-Mogg, Jacob Conservative Party Somerset North East 26.07.2010
Rifkind, Malcolm Conservative Party Kensington 26.07.2010
Robertson, Laurence Conservative Party Tewkesbury 26.07.2010
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 26.07.2010
Shepherd, Richard Conservative Party Aldridge-Brownhills 26.07.2010
Shuker, Gavin Labour Party Luton South 11.10.2010
Stewart, Bob Conservative Party Beckenham 26.07.2010
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 06.09.2010
Stuart, Graham Conservative Party Beverley and Holderness 26.07.2010
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 06.09.2010
Walker, Robin Conservative Party Worcester 26.07.2010
Whittingdale, John Conservative Party Maldon 26.07.2010