Early day motion 509

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that more than one million people attended the 10 July 2010 protest in Barcelona in favour of proper powers for Catalonia; welcomes the continuing debate over the constitution of Catalonia; believes Catalonia to be a nation; recognises that independently organised votes on independence have shown a majority in favour; expresses concern that the democratic will of the people of Catalonia asshown in the 2006 referendum on the Statute of Autonomy should be over-ruled by the judiciary of Madrid in its ruling of June 2010; expresses further concern that future constitutional developments in Catalonia which take place with the support of thegovernment and people of Catalonia may face judicial review by organisations which are not neutral or independent in this matter; and calls for the 2006 statute to be carried out in the form which was supportedat the ballot box and that the residents of Catalonia should be allowed the right to determine democratically their own future.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 14

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 14 out of 14

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 19.07.2010
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 14.07.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 15.07.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 15.07.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 19.07.2010
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 14.07.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 14.07.2010
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 14.07.2010
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 14.07.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 19.07.2010
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 14.07.2010
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 14.07.2010
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 14.07.2010
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 14.07.2010