Early day motion 2993

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the proposal of the Irish public service broadcaster, RT (Radio Telefs ireann), to close its London bureau and cease operations from September 2012; pays tribute to the illustrious record of service provided by the bureau and its staff in keeping Irish viewers informed about British economic, political and cultural life, contributing to the peaceful resolution of conflict and promoting increasingly close relations between Britain and Ireland and the people of our respective islands; while recognising the drastic fall of broadcasting revenue at a time of economic crisis; furthernotes the concerns of the Irish community in Britain for the long-term consequences of RT bureau closure; believes that on-the-spot access for Irish-based media and engagement in public life in this jurisdiction is vital to fulfil the vision of future British-Irish relations as set out by the Prime Minister and Irish Taoiseach in their historic statement of 12 March 2012; and urges the Government to support the case for retention of the Bureau and assist in the search for alternatives to closure.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 23.04.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.04.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 30.04.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 24.04.2012
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 25.04.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.04.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 26.04.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 25.04.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 24.04.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.04.2012
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 25.04.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 24.04.2012
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 23.04.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 25.04.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 25.04.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 25.04.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 25.04.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 23.04.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.04.2012
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 23.04.2012
Reckless, Mark Conservative Party Rochester and Strood 24.04.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 24.04.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 23.04.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 25.04.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 26.04.2012