Early day motion 2990

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the Welfare Reform Act 2012 provides for the introduction of a universal credit to replace a range of existing means-tested benefits and tax credits for millions of people of working age, starting from 2013; records that 20,000 housing benefit staff currently handle such casework for local residents; shares the Communities and Local Government Select Committee's concerns outlined in its report, Localisation issues in welfare reform, HC 1406, published in October 2011 regarding the changes to delivery mechanisms particularly for housing costs; believes that it is important that claimants can speak in person to local housing staff to ask questions, resolve issues and assist in complex applications in order to avoid errors and verify all official personal documents face-to-face; and is convinced that local delivery and a continuing local authority role in benefit applications will be critical for the successful delivery of the universal credit.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 23.04.2012
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 30.04.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 24.04.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.04.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.04.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.04.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 30.04.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 30.04.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 26.04.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 30.04.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 25.04.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.04.2012
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 25.04.2012
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 25.04.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 25.04.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 26.04.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 25.04.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 30.04.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.04.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 24.04.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 24.04.2012