Early day motion 2982

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the efforts made by the horseracing industry to improve safety for the running of the 2012 Aintree Grand National; regrets the fatalities of two horses in this year's running of the race; notes that the decade since 2000 is the safest on record for the race; sincerely hopes that recent changes will be shown over time to have reduced risk, whilst understanding it is not alwayspossible to remove this entirely from such an arduous and competitive event; considers this annual contest to be an important part of racing sporting endeavour and recognises its place in British history since its first running in 1839; observes its continued popularity in the UK and across the world with an estimated global audience in excess of half a billion people; and fully understands that every effort must be made further to improve safety for all horses and jockeys participating and for safety improvements to be properly considered and judged continuously whilst every effort is made to maintain the essence of what makes the Grand National the most popular horse race in the UK calendar.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 18

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 18 out of 18

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Aldous, Peter Conservative Party Waveney 23.04.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.04.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.04.2012
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 18.04.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.04.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.04.2012
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 19.04.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 25.04.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 18.04.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.04.2012
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 18.04.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.04.2012
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 23.04.2012
Robertson, Laurence Conservative Party Tewkesbury 18.04.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 19.04.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 26.04.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 24.04.2012
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 23.04.2012