Early day motion 2954

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that the decision in the Budget to levy standard-rate VAT on improvement, alteration and restoration works to 12,500 listed cathedral and church buildings could cost the Church of England 20 million a year from October 2012 and that the proposed extension to the rebate scheme will not cover the increased costs; notes that the deans of 23 cathedrals, including Canterbury, Durham and York, have signed an open letter to the Chancellor of the Exchequer urging him to change his policy to one that will support rather than damage the nation's heritage and warning that the policy seriously damages the sustainability of many great buildings; further notes that this would seriously damage the voluntary efforts of parishioners at the Holy Cross Church in Ryton who have been fundraising for many years to make a much-needed series of improvements and that the proposed change would add 15,000 to the costs of plans to make the church as accessible as possible; supports their e-petition (www.epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petititions/32229); and urges the Government to reconsider this counter-productive policy whilst making sure that it is not exploited by wealthy individuals.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 38

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 38 out of 38

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 16.04.2012
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 18.04.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.04.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 18.04.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 17.04.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 23.04.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 17.04.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.04.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 17.04.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 24.04.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 16.04.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 16.04.2012
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 17.04.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.04.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 16.04.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 17.04.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 16.04.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 19.04.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.04.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.04.2012
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 23.04.2012
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 24.04.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 18.04.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 19.04.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.04.2012
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 19.04.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.04.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 16.04.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 16.04.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 18.04.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.04.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 18.04.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 19.04.2012
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 30.04.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 17.04.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 18.04.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 19.04.2012
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 23.04.2012