Early day motion 2953

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned by the Government's decision to postpone indefinitely the planned Higher Education Bill; calls for an urgent debate on the future of higher education policy; notes the economic, social and wider value of our publicly-funded university system which has a long-established worldwide reputation for quality; further notes with great concern that further changes to higher education policy, including the opening up of degree-awarding powers and public funding to for-profit education providers, might be enacted without an opportunity for full parliamentary scrutiny and transparency or the input of the views of students, young people and staff; further calls for the provision of maximum opportunities for public scrutiny of the Government's White Paper proposals, Students at the Heart of the System, which have still not been afforded the opportunity to be voted upon by this House; further calls for a debate on the availability of student support, postgraduate funding, access for mature students and the extent and causes of student hardship in light of proposed reductions in student bursaries and increases in hidden course costs; and further calls for the means to create protections for students and staff whilst the wider reforms are in flux, including protecting the terms and conditions attached to student loans.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 31

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 31 out of 31

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 16.04.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.04.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 18.04.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 23.04.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 17.04.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 23.04.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 16.04.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 18.04.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.04.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 17.04.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 16.04.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 24.04.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 16.04.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 25.04.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.04.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 23.04.2012
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 24.04.2012
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 16.04.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 25.04.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 19.04.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 23.04.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.04.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.04.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 19.04.2012
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 19.04.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 16.04.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.04.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 19.04.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 19.04.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 19.04.2012
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 30.04.2012