Early day motion 2932

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House urges the Government to ensure that Ofcom's upcoming auction of 4G broadband frequencies provides universal access with approved exceptions; is concerned that the current proposals to provide at least 98 per cent coverage or to match 2G cover as extended by the Government's Mobile Infrastructure Programme would leave at least half a million people without coverage and may only guarantee this coverage on one given network provider; stresses the importance of access to broadband services on multiple networks in any one area to avoid monopolies and encourage competition; requests that the Government ensures any licensees will be obliged to carry the services of other operators; recognises the importance of access to mobile broadband for businesses in rural areas, which are vital tothe UK'seconomy; is concerned by evidence from a recent RSA and Lancaster University study in Cumbria showing the detrimental impact of a widening digital divide on citizens and public services in rural areas; highlights the success of countries including Sweden in achieving universal 3G coverage; and calls on the Government to follow their example in the UK to prevent a digital divide.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 17

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 17 out of 17

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 16.04.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 18.04.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.04.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 18.04.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.03.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 27.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 16.04.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 17.04.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.04.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 18.04.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 19.04.2012
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 18.04.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.04.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 17.04.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 16.04.2012
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 19.04.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 30.04.2012