Early day motion 2931

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is greatly concerned at the Chancellor of the Exchequer's Budget announcement of his intention to introduce regional pay; recognises that this will impact on public sector employees who have already experienced a pay freeze; notes that a one per cent reduction in regional pay in the North West would take out some 200 million annually from the regional economy, some 75 million from Greater Manchester and 45 million from Merseyside, areas of high and growing unemployment; is aware that this reduction in demand will have a negative knock-on effect on the private sector, limiting regional growth and destroying private sector jobs; and calls on the Government to think again on a measure which would be economically incompetent and socially divisive.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 26

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 26 out of 26

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.04.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.04.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 19.04.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 16.04.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 17.04.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.04.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.03.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 24.04.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 24.04.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.04.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 16.04.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 27.03.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.04.2012
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 23.04.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 19.04.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.04.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.04.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 23.04.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 16.04.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 17.04.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 19.04.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 16.04.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 16.04.2012
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 25.04.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 19.04.2012
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 23.04.2012