Early day motion 2925

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned at the threat to the future of the Forestry Commission and the current cuts in its funding; notes with concern that more than one year after the Government abandoned its consultation on disposal of the Public Forest Estate (PFE),the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairshas provided no clarity on the way forward or guarantee of protection of jobs for the hundreds of workers employed by the Forestry Commission; recognises the outstanding public service provided by the Forestry Commission and the strong public support for keeping the forest estate under public control to protect the public's rights of way and the other services it provides; further notes the Forestry Commission provides exceptional value for money, costing less than a second-class stamp to each English taxpayer to fund the PFE's 258,000 hectares and 1,500 woods and forests that it still holds; further notes that independent economic research demonstrates that the benefits the Forestry Commission delivers greatly outweigh the cost, which is a tiny draw-down on the public exchequer for public goods and benefits estimated in the region of 1.8 billion annually; further notes approximately 70 per cent of Forestry Commission PFE costs are raised from revenue generated on and around the PFE via recreation, timber and cafe franchise; and therefore calls on the Government to publicly endorse the Forestry Commission, reverse its cuts and ensure it is funded sufficiently to be able to properly remunerate its employees and to continue to deliver a service up to the level of public expectation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.04.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.04.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 27.03.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 16.04.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.04.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 24.04.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 16.04.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 17.04.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.03.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 19.04.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.04.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 26.03.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 18.04.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 19.04.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 26.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.03.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 18.04.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 17.04.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.04.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 27.03.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 19.04.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 27.03.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 16.04.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 27.03.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 27.03.2012