Early day motion 2915

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses its profound gratitude to Her Majesty The Queen for her dedication to a life of public service; pays tribute to the energy, wisdom and grace with which she carries out her many public duties; welcomes the opportunities over the coming months that the nation will have to celebrate her Diamond Jubilee a landmark that, of the 41 monarchs who have reigned inEngland and the UK since William the Conqueror, only Her Majesty and Queen Victoria have reached; notes that thesouth tower of the Palace of Westminster was originally called The King's Tower; further notes that when the Palace of Westminster was rebuilt in 1860, it was renamed the Victoria Tower, to commemorate the long reign of Queen Victoria; proudly recalls Her Majesty's tribute to Parliament in her Address to both Houses as `an unshakeable cornerstone of our constitution and our way of life'; signals its desire to honour Her Majesty's commitment to democracy in Britain and the Commonwealth; and therefore calls on the House of Commons Commission to consider proposals to rename the Palace of Westminster'snorth tower holding the Big Ben clock the Elizabeth Tower, in recognition of Her Majesty's 60 years of unbroken public service on behalf of her country.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 40

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 40 out of 40

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 17.04.2012
Andrew, Stuart Conservative Party Pudsey 27.03.2012
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 22.03.2012
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 22.03.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 22.03.2012
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 22.03.2012
Bray, Angie Conservative Party Ealing Central and Acton 22.03.2012
Coffey, Therese Conservative Party Suffolk Coastal 23.03.2012
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 18.04.2012
Ellwood, Tobias Conservative Party Bournemouth East 22.03.2012
Evennett, David Conservative Party Bexleyheath and Crayford 22.03.2012
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 16.04.2012
Griffiths, Andrew Conservative Party Burton 22.03.2012
Gyimah, Sam Conservative Party East Surrey 22.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 26.03.2012
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 26.03.2012
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 22.03.2012
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 27.03.2012
Laing, Eleanor Conservative Party Epping Forest 16.04.2012
Latham, Pauline Conservative Party Mid Derbyshire 22.03.2012
Leadsom, Andrea Conservative Party Northamptonshire South 22.03.2012
Malhotra, Seema Labour Party Feltham and Heston 27.03.2012
McCartney, Karl Conservative Party Lincoln 27.03.2012
Metcalfe, Stephen Conservative Party Basildon South and Thurrock East 22.03.2012
Mordaunt, Penny Conservative Party Portsmouth North 16.04.2012
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 27.03.2012
Ollerenshaw, Eric Conservative Party Lancaster and Fleetwood 22.03.2012
Ottaway, Richard Conservative Party Croydon South 22.03.2012
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 19.04.2012
Pincher, Christopher Conservative Party Tamworth 22.03.2012
Rees-Mogg, Jacob Conservative Party Somerset North East 22.03.2012
Rifkind, Malcolm Conservative Party Kensington 22.03.2012
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 22.03.2012
Stewart, Bob Conservative Party Beckenham 22.03.2012
Straw, Jack Labour Party Blackburn 22.03.2012
Swayne, Desmond Conservative Party New Forest West 22.03.2012
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 16.04.2012
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 27.03.2012
Walker, Robin Conservative Party Worcester 16.04.2012
Whittingdale, John Conservative Party Maldon 22.03.2012