Early day motion 2904

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) is going to be dismantled by the Government when it cuts 63 per cent. from the budget and 72 per cent. from staffing, compared to levels at its creation; strongly objects to the axing of frontline services like the helpline and grants to regional outreach work and the end of free legal representation for victims of discrimination; further notes the risk that advice deserts may spread across the country as a result of the cuts and its UN accreditation as an A status national human rights institution may be at risk as a result of the cuts to budget and remit; is concerned that over 200 experienced regional casework and advice staff may be axed, while the commission retains highly paid management consultants to implement a change programme; understands that PCS members at EHRC offices have taken industrial action in protest against job cuts, closures and privatisation; further understands that staff are anticipating deeper and faster cuts resulting in even more job losses and outsourcing this year; and calls on the Government to put a halt to spending more taxpayers' money on another costly restructuring exercise, and to instead fund the body so that it maintains its remit and staffing levels to help victims of discrimination and promote a culture where all are equal and the human rights of all are respected.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 35

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 35 out of 35

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 20.03.2012
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 27.03.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 21.03.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.03.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 27.03.2012
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 27.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 20.03.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 16.04.2012
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 26.03.2012
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 17.04.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.03.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 21.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 22.03.2012
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 26.03.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.03.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 16.04.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 21.03.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 27.03.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 22.03.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 27.03.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.03.2012
Michael, Alun Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 27.03.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 21.03.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 16.04.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 20.03.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 21.03.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 21.03.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 27.03.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 16.04.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 21.03.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.03.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 25.04.2012
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 16.04.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 20.03.2012
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 23.04.2012