Early day motion 2902

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that the majority of young disabled people and those with special educational needs already benefit from increasingly good practice in inclusive mainstream schools, that research from all the major professional, disability and parent-led organisations shows that there is no bias towards inclusion within the education systemfor disabled children and that, despite the rhetoric of choice for families, many find their aspirations for an inclusive mainstream school placement are denied by the inconsistencies of local provision; and therefore calls on the Government to refrain from bringing forward any changes to primary legislation which would make it even harder for families to exercise choice and instead to ensure that all schools implement the current legislation under the Equalities Act 2010 which requires them to make reasonable adjustments and develop policies which do not discriminate against young disabled people.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 27

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 27 out of 27

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 20.03.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 21.03.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.03.2012
Chapman, Jenny Labour Party Darlington 20.03.2012
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 27.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.03.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 16.04.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 21.03.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.03.2012
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 20.03.2012
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 20.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 26.03.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 21.03.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 20.03.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 22.03.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 20.03.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 26.03.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 20.03.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 21.03.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 21.03.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 27.03.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 20.03.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 21.03.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 21.03.2012
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 20.03.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.03.2012