Early day motion 2891

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is aware that the Maritime and Coastguard Agency drew up location matrix and impact assessment criteria in the recent coastguard reorganisation process; notes that these criteria included best use of existing property portfolios, availability of jobseekers for recruitment, evenness of spread around the coast and co-location with other search and rescue partners; is convinced that any objective analysis of these factors would have resulted in the retention of Swansea Maritime Rescue Co-ordination Centre (Coastguard Station); is astonished that the Maritime and Coastguard Agency, in response to a Freedom of Information request from the hon. Member for Gower, admitted that it used no scoring system whatsoever in employing its location matrix and impact assessment criteria; believes that this brings into question the rationale for all announced coastguard station closures in the UK; and urges the Government to abandon its current plans and draw up a new modernisation programme based on the skills and expertise of our coastguard personnel.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 16

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 16 out of 16

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 09.03.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.03.2012
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 27.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.03.2012
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 09.03.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 20.03.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 20.03.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 09.03.2012
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 09.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 22.03.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.03.2012
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 09.03.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.04.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 09.03.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 21.03.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 20.03.2012