Early day motion 2889

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned that the number of specialist diabetes nurses is falling despite the rise in the number of people diagnosed with the condition; notes that 20 per cent. of those currently employed as specialist diabetes nurses are due to retire by 2016; recognises that the majority of GP practice nurses do not have the expertise to take on patients whose diabetes is unpredictable or complex; further notes research that shows hospitals employing a diabetes specialist team can save up to 4.4 million annually on other NHS costs; and calls on the Government to support primary care trusts to recruit and train the number of specialist nurses required to deal with the 2.9 million diabetes sufferers in the UK.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.03.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 21.03.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 20.03.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.03.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 16.04.2012
Dobbin, Jim [R] Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 20.03.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 21.03.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.03.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 22.03.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 16.04.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 22.03.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.03.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.03.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 16.04.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 20.03.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 27.03.2012
Malhotra, Seema Labour Party Feltham and Heston 27.03.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 20.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 09.03.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 20.03.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 21.03.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 21.03.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 21.03.2012
Sanders, Adrian [R] Liberal Democrats Torbay 20.03.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 20.03.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 21.03.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 21.03.2012
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 09.03.2012
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 27.03.2012