Early day motion 2879

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with grave concern China's policy to forcibly repatriate North Korean refugees; expresses outrage at the recent repatriation of at least 41 North Koreans; urges Chinese authorities to desist from further repatriations; further urges China to allow safe passage for refugees to third countries; further notes that China is a signatory to the 1951 United Nations Refugee Convention and the Convention against Torture; further urges China to uphold international law and respect the principle of non-refoulement; further urges China to recognise that economic migrants from the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) are refugees sur place, defined by the United Nations, on account of the persecution they are likely to faceupon return; further notes that North Korea announced in December 2011 its intention to annihilate up to three generations of a family if a person fled during the 100 day period of mourning of Kim Jong-il; further notes that in 2010 the DPRK Ministry of Public Security issued a decree making defection a crime of treachery against the nation; further notes widespread reports of arrest, imprisonment, torture and execution faced by North Korean refugees upon return; further notes that North Korean refugees suspected of contacting South Koreans, converting to Christianity, or possessing a Bible face especially severe punishment; calls on China to allow United Nations access to all North Korean refugees in China; further calls on the DPRK to desist from arresting or persecuting those who have been repatriated; and further urges the Government to raise this as a matter of urgency with China, the DPRK and inthe United Nations.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 19.04.2012
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 16.04.2012
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 16.04.2012
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 15.03.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 20.03.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.03.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 21.03.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 09.03.2012
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 26.03.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.03.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 16.04.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.03.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 23.04.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.03.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.03.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 27.03.2012
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 20.03.2012
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 30.04.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 20.03.2012
Mercer, Patrick Conservative Party Newark 30.04.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 21.03.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 09.03.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 20.03.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 21.03.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 30.04.2012