Early day motion 2869

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House commemorates the 50th anniversary of the historic 1962 Orpington by-election; celebrates the victory of Eric Lubbock, now Lord Avebury; notes and celebrates the significant increases in vote shares of the Liberal Party in another five parliamentary by-elections, Middlesbrough East, Blackpool North, Stockton-on-Tees, South Dorset and Chippenham, in the same year; further notes that the sensational victory in Orpington and the other good results were part of and key to the revival of the Liberal Party and liberal politics in the UK; and praises the hard work of all the Liberal candidates, agents, helpers and supporters in all the parliamentary by-elections that took place between March and November 1962 that helped revive the Liberal Party and changed British political history.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 12

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 12 out of 12

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 14.03.2012
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 27.03.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 21.03.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 14.03.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 15.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.03.2012
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 14.03.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 20.03.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 14.03.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 14.03.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 22.03.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 14.03.2012