Early day motion 2840

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that April 2012 marks the tenthanniversary of the coup in Venezuela that temporarily ousted the elected government led by President Hugo Chavez; further notes that a number of people lost their lives and there were many violations of human rights during the three-day coup during which the coup plotters closed down many of the country's democratic institutions; furthernotes that since President Chavez was first elected in 1998 Venezuela has held more sets of elections than in the country's previous 40 years of democracy, all of them free and fair; further notes that Hugo Chavez and his coalition of supporters have won all but one of these elections; is concerned that the coup received backing from elements of the US administration and that millions of dollars are still being provided by the US to opposition parties in Venezuela; congratulates the Venezuelan government on its strong democratic record and strengthening of social progress since the coup, including free healthcare being made available to millions for the first time, the eradication of illiteracy and the halving of extreme poverty; and believes the Venezuelan people should be able to elect their own President on 7 October 2012 free from external intervention and funding.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 09.03.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 14.03.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 14.03.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 07.03.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 07.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 07.03.2012
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 26.03.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 22.03.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.03.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 13.03.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.03.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 08.03.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 09.03.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 27.03.2012
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 16.04.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.03.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 16.04.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 16.04.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.03.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 09.03.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 22.03.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.03.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 09.03.2012
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 07.03.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 16.04.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 26.03.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 08.03.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.03.2012