Early day motion 2836

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the growth in rail patronage experienced over the last 10 years and recognises that this has led to a busier network such that there is now a severe lack of capacity in many areas; notes that this lack of capacity is particularly critical across the north of England; further notes that Network Rail has developed the Northern Hub, a scheme to radically improve capacity across the North and stimulate economic growth by allowing for an additional 700 trains a day to travel, generating 4 billion of benefits to the northern economy and delivering 20,000 to 30,000 extra jobs; is mindful of the benefit cost ratio of the scheme of 4:1 which is exceptional for a scheme of this magnitude; recognises the widespread support the scheme enjoys across the North from representatives of all political parties, the public as well as businesses; and urges the Government to realise the full benefits of the scheme by committing to the delivery of all its constituent parts in full in the period 2014 to 2019.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 41

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 41 out of 41

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 23.04.2012
Andrew, Stuart Conservative Party Pudsey 14.03.2012
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 16.04.2012
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 07.03.2012
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 09.03.2012
Blears, Hazel Labour Party Salford and Eccles 23.04.2012
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 27.03.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 08.03.2012
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 13.03.2012
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 19.04.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 07.03.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.03.2012
Eagle, Maria Labour Party Garston and Halewood 16.04.2012
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 23.04.2012
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 13.03.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 12.03.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 08.03.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 09.03.2012
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 26.04.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.03.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 07.03.2012
MacShane, Denis Labour Party Rotherham 26.04.2012
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 09.03.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 14.03.2012
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 16.04.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.03.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 09.03.2012
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 09.03.2012
Mowat, David Conservative Party Warrington South 19.04.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 15.03.2012
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 16.04.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 08.03.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 14.03.2012
Reevell, Simon Conservative Party Dewsbury 20.03.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 20.03.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.03.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 07.03.2012
Sturdy, Julian Conservative Party York Outer 18.04.2012
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 16.04.2012
Whittaker, Craig Conservative Party Calder Valley 13.03.2012
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 27.03.2012