Early day motion 2833

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is aware that currently the Department of Transport is conducting a consultation asking whether local authorities, the Highways Agency, utility companies and other relevant service industries should be allowed to advertise traffic regulation orders in areas other than in local newspapers; notes that according to market-based evidence, no other medium has the same reach as local press, with it constantly out-performing all other media outlets who are in the business of providing information to the general public; believes that if such a change is agreed it will lead to these and other bodies simply using cheaper options such as their own website, or other cheaper methods which will undermine the stability of the local press and inevitably cause the supply, style and visibility of public information to be seriously detrimentally affected.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 16.04.2012
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 30.04.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 07.03.2012
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 27.03.2012
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 15.03.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.03.2012
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 19.04.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 07.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.03.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 08.03.2012
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 27.03.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 08.03.2012
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 16.04.2012
Davis, David Conservative Party Haltemprice and Howden 14.03.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.03.2012
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 27.03.2012
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 30.04.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.03.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.03.2012
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 13.03.2012
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 09.03.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.03.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 09.03.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 16.04.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 14.03.2012
Percy, Andrew Conservative Party Brigg and Goole 22.03.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 06.03.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.03.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 07.03.2012
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 16.04.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 15.03.2012
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 16.04.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 08.03.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 16.04.2012