Early day motion 2818

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House regrets that Kamal Abbas, the General Co-ordinator of the Center for Trade Union and Worker Services has been sentenced in absentia to six months in prison for insulting a public officer, the acting president of the Egyptian Trade Union Federation, the pre-revolution government-controlled labour front, at a meeting of the International Labour Organisations (ILO); believes that this ruling is a clear attack on freedom of expression, as guaranteed in Article 12 of Egypt's Constitutional Declaration, and on Egypt's independent unions, an essential bedrock of civil society and democracy, and on the right of Egyptian workers to decide their own representatives; welcomes the campaign for the lifting of this sentence by the International Trade Union Confederation, the TUC and LabourStart; and urges the Egyptian authorities to pass the draft law on trade union freedoms that would guarantee freedom of association and collective bargaining and bring Egypt in line with the core conventions of the ILO.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 05.03.2012
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 12.03.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.03.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.03.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.03.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 13.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.03.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 26.03.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 06.03.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 05.03.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 06.03.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.03.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 13.03.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 05.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 06.03.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 05.03.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.03.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.03.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 05.03.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 13.03.2012
MacShane, Denis Labour Party Rotherham 08.03.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.03.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 05.03.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 16.04.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 21.03.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 14.03.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 14.03.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 06.03.2012