Early day motion 2800

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is aware of the significantly different approach adopted by the rulers of Burma over the past year; remains however cautious untilsuch times as action is actually taken by the regime to bring irrevocable and lasting change to the country; believes such actions must include the unconditional release of all political prisoners, announcement of an immediate ceasefire, agreement to begin the process of political dialogue between parties involved in the present conflicts, the ending of strict censorship, abolition of repressive laws and the setting of timescales to hold free and fair elections in the country; and calls on the Government to maintain the present arrangements of sanctions beyond the April 2012 renewal date, until such times as actual changes take place, rather than simply undelivered promises being made.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 19

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 19 out of 19

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 01.03.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 06.03.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.03.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 01.03.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 01.03.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 07.03.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 29.02.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 01.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 05.03.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.03.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.03.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 01.03.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 01.03.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 29.02.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 01.03.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.03.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 15.03.2012