Early day motion 2794

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is aware that from April 2012 changes in tax credits for couples with children will require them to work up to eight hours extraper week in order for them to continue to qualify for working tax credits worth 3,870 per annum; notes that recent Written Ministerial answers to parliamentary questions have revealed that over 212,000 couples with 470,000 children in the UK will be affected by these changes unless, during the present economic recession, they can find extra employment time; believes that such changes will cause low income households to give up their employment because they will be better off on benefits, thereby forcing thousands of families out of work and into poverty and debt, the effects of which willbe long lasting; and calls on the Government todesist in its plans to introduce such ill-thought-out and negative changes.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 27

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 27 out of 27

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 08.03.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 06.03.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.03.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.03.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 13.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 01.03.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 16.04.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 01.03.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 07.03.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 29.02.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.03.2012
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 07.03.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.03.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.03.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 01.03.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 07.03.2012
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 23.03.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 07.03.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.03.2012
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 06.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 29.02.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 29.02.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 07.03.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 01.03.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 14.03.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.03.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 01.03.2012