Early day motion 2787

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the predatory pricing tactics pursued by some large energy suppliers in which loss-leading tariffs are offered to online customers, whilst the majority of existing, loyal customers are excluded from accessing these deals; further notes that these deals are to the detriment of customers as energy supplier losses in one area are made up by higher charges for existing customers elsewhere; expresses concern that these pricing policies harm competition in the energy market by preventing smaller suppliers from competing with the larger suppliers; and calls on the Government to work with the regulator to create a fair market for customers and smaller suppliers by putting an end to this form of predatory pricing.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 15.03.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 29.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.03.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 16.04.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 28.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 29.02.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 07.03.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.03.2012
Gardiner, Barry Labour Party Brent North 07.03.2012
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 07.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 29.02.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 29.02.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.03.2012
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 28.02.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 01.03.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 01.03.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.03.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 29.02.2012
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 06.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 29.02.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 29.02.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 20.03.2012
Percy, Andrew Conservative Party Brigg and Goole 12.03.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 01.03.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 14.03.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 01.03.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 29.02.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 14.03.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 29.02.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 01.03.2012
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 08.03.2012
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 08.03.2012
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 08.03.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 20.03.2012