Early day motion 2777

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that head injury patients are at risk of post-traumatic hypopituitarism (PTHP) which may appear immediately after head injury or up to decades later; further notes that the effects of pituitary damage can include infertility, failure to grow in children, muscle loss in adults, weight problems, fatigue, depression, loss of sex drive, erectile dysfunction in men and loss of periods in women; is concerned about the increased risk of suicide after head injury and the potential links to PTHP; is further concerned that patients may not be warned of or diagnosed with PTHP following a head injury as the current sample discharge letter in the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE)head injury guideline makes no reference to PTHP; acknowledges that PTHP can be effectively treated with hormone replacement therapy; acknowledges that athletes and football players may be at particular risk owing to exposure to repetitive mild head trauma; is encouraged that the Football Association will be opening St George's Park as a centre of applied football research which will research the potential long-term effects of participation in the sport on the health of players; and calls on the Government to amend the NICE sample discharge advice and consider introducing routine screening for PTHP for head injury patients, to improve their quality of life and perhaps also to save the lives of athletes and the general public.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 23

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 23 out of 23

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 09.03.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 29.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 28.02.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 16.04.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 08.03.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 28.02.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 29.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.02.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 01.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 28.02.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 01.03.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 01.03.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 01.03.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 28.02.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 29.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.02.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 01.03.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.02.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 29.02.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 27.02.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 28.02.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 27.02.2012