Early day motion 2751

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Justice Select Committee's report into presumption of death; recognises that when a family member goes missing the pain and anguish families go through is considerable; is concerned that this emotional trauma is exacerbated by a lack of practical guidance and a legislative patchwork of bewildering complexity which leaves many families unable to maintain or resolve their missing relative's affairs; and therefore calls on the Government to accept the threefold recommendations made by the Committee to introduce a Presumption of Death Act for England and Wales, modelled on those in place in Northern Ireland and Scotland, to clarify the legal position, to introduce guardianship orders so that financial stewardship of a missing person's affairs can be established in the short term and to provide effective guidance for the families of missing people and those who provide services for them.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 20.03.2012
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 16.04.2012
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 14.03.2012
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 28.02.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 27.02.2012
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 06.03.2012
Brazier, Julian Conservative Party Canterbury 22.03.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 09.03.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 14.03.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 15.03.2012
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 23.02.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 09.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.02.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 28.02.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 23.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 27.02.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 15.03.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 29.02.2012
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 21.03.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.02.2012
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 23.02.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.03.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 23.02.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 23.02.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 16.04.2012
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 20.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 23.02.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 01.03.2012
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 09.03.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 16.04.2012
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 30.04.2012
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 17.04.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 23.02.2012
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 16.04.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.03.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 07.03.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 22.03.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 28.02.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 29.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.02.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 09.03.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 20.03.2012
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 28.02.2012
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 14.03.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 14.03.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 14.03.2012
Reevell, Simon Conservative Party Dewsbury 30.04.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.02.2012
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 16.04.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 16.04.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 29.02.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 14.03.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 05.03.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 23.02.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 26.03.2012
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 30.04.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 15.03.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 23.02.2012
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 26.03.2012