Early day motion 2726

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that 1 July will mark the tenth anniversary since the International Criminal Court (ICC) created by the Rome Statute entered into force; notes that the Democratic Republic of Congo ratified the Rome Statute on 30 March 2002; reaffirms its support for the Security Council's primary role set out in the UN Charter for the maintenance of international peace, security and justice; congratulates Mrs Fatou Bensouda on her appointment as ICC Chief Prosecutor; knows that the UK will in March hold the Presidency of the United Nations Security Council; asks the Government to urge the UN Secretary General to establish a group of experts to conduct an in-depth study of possible justice mechanisms to investigate and prosecute crimes outlined in the United Nations Mapping Exercise on Congo; and calls on Mrs Bensouda to make use of the Prosecutor's proprio motu powers enshrined in Articles 13(c), 15 and 53(1) of the Rome Statute by undertaking a preliminary investigation of serious crimes committed in Congo after 1 July 2002 and on evidence to bring charges against principal militia chiefs and their backers to ensure that justice is done while Congo's national justice system is being rebuilt.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 17

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 17 out of 17

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 20.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.02.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 05.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.02.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.02.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 23.02.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 28.02.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 21.02.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 23.02.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 29.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.02.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 13.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.02.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 21.02.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 21.02.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 21.02.2012