Early day motion 2724

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned that every year in England alone over 340,000 children under the age of 16 are encouraged to try smoking for the first time; notes that research shows the designs on tobacco packaging attract children to try smoking; is aware that the adoption of plain packaging is supported by a range of experts and international bodies; believes that the absence of brand designs will make the health warnings more effective and reduce the misconception that certain brands are healthier than others; considers that this can help to reduce the number of young people taking up smoking and encourage adult smokers to quit without being misled by brands and their image; further notes the survey commissioned by ASH (Action and Smoking on Health) which found that 75 per cent. of the public would support plain packaging if there were evidence to show that this would make health warnings more effective and 80 per cent. would support it if evidence showed it made smoking less attractive to children; and urges the Government tofollow the example of Australia and pass legislation for plain packaging on tobacco products to reduce the number of smokers, its uptake and the cost to National Health resources.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 66

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 66 out of 66

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Aldous, Peter Conservative Party Waveney 23.02.2012
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 21.02.2012
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 30.04.2012
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 09.03.2012
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 19.04.2012
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 23.02.2012
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 21.02.2012
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 24.04.2012
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 16.04.2012
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 12.03.2012
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 26.04.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.02.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 28.02.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 29.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.02.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 28.02.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 16.04.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 21.02.2012
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 23.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 20.02.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 23.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.02.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 29.02.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.02.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 23.02.2012
Gardiner, Barry Labour Party Brent North 23.02.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 09.03.2012
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 26.04.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 23.02.2012
Heald, Oliver Conservative Party North East Hertfordshire 18.04.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 21.02.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 23.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.02.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 21.02.2012
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 16.04.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 21.02.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 18.04.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 21.02.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 08.02.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 05.03.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 23.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.02.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 21.02.2012
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 27.02.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 23.02.2012
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 28.02.2012
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 28.02.2012
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 30.04.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 14.03.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.02.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 21.02.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 23.02.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 28.02.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 08.02.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 21.02.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 23.02.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 19.04.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 21.02.2012
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 19.04.2012
Wicks, Malcolm Labour Party Croydon North 23.02.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 27.02.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 20.02.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 30.04.2012
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 06.03.2012
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 18.04.2012