Early day motion 2719

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the continued increase in UK aid to Burma and the visit to Burma in 2011 by the Secretary of State for International Development; further welcomes political reforms made by the government of Burma; is, however, deeply concerned that the number of people displaced last year in that country by conflict and human rights abuses doubled to almost 150,000; is alarmed that the government of Burma is continuing to block humanitarian aid to hundreds of thousands of people in conflict zones; calls on the British Government to increase aid to populations displaced by conflict, including significant increases in cross-border aid which can be the only way to access large numbers of displaced people; expresses deep concern that refugees in camps in neighbouring Thailand who have fled conflict are facing cuts in rations of 22 per cent. which could cause increased malnutrition in children; looks forward to free and fair elections with the participation of Aung San Suu Kyi and her party; and calls on the Government to significantly increase funding for Burma to support food and shelter for refugees.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 66

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 66 out of 66

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 06.03.2012
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 09.03.2012
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 09.03.2012
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 07.03.2012
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 09.03.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 20.02.2012
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 05.03.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 23.02.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.02.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 09.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.02.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 28.02.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 23.02.2012
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 26.03.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 27.03.2012
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 08.03.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.02.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 22.03.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.02.2012
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 12.03.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 08.02.2012
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 08.03.2012
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 08.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 20.02.2012
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 27.02.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 23.02.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 21.02.2012
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 30.04.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.02.2012
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 09.03.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 09.03.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 08.02.2012
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 06.03.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 08.03.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 21.02.2012
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 27.02.2012
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 13.03.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 23.02.2012
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 20.02.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 23.02.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 13.03.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.02.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 12.03.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 13.03.2012
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 16.04.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 21.02.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 23.02.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 09.03.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 26.03.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 21.02.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 23.02.2012
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 09.03.2012
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 12.03.2012
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 16.04.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 08.02.2012
Walker, Robin Conservative Party Worcester 16.04.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 29.02.2012
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 28.02.2012
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 12.03.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 07.03.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 20.02.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 09.03.2012
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 06.03.2012
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 26.03.2012