Early day motion 2713

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the proposed 75 job losses at Trinity Mirror's national newspaper titles, the Daily Mirror, Sunday Mirror and The People; notes that these cuts come at a time when the pay and pensions awards for Trinity Mirror directors last year was 3.9 million; further notes that the Chief Executive of Trinity Mirror, Sly Bailey, received a pay and pensions package of 1.7 million; understands that the share price for Trinity Mirror in February 2012 was 48p compared to 90p 12 months ago; condemns the situation where journalists face losing their jobs whilst senior directors at Trinity Mirror receive large bonuses; further notes that at the 2011 Trinity Mirror AGM, in a break from practice, attending shareholders were not able to vote by a show of hands on the floor of the meeting and that their votes were aggregated withlarge institutional investors; and calls on the Government to look at measures to ensure that shareholders at companies like Trinity Mirror are able to demonstrate their vote in a show of hands over directors' remuneration.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 19

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 19 out of 19

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.02.2012
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 27.03.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 08.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 08.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.02.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 08.02.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.02.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 20.02.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 13.03.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.02.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 13.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 28.02.2012
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 08.02.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 23.02.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 23.02.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 08.02.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 21.02.2012