Early day motion 2708

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates Lancashire County Council's scrutiny committee on its report into the problems of cross boundary placements entitled Who Cares; notes that of 64,000 young people in care nationally around one-third are looked afterbythe children's services of one authority yet reside within the geographical boundaries of another; is concerned that local authorities are failing to notify other authorities that they have placed a child in their area; further notes the evidence that these young people are more likely to slip through support systems, more likely to go missing from care and education than other looked-after children and to experience poorer outcomes; believes that this report makes a major contribution to the understanding of the issues around cross boundary placements; and calls for further research to be undertaken in this area so that outcomes for all looked-after children can be improved.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 26

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 26 out of 26

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 08.02.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 08.02.2012
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 05.03.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.02.2012
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 08.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.02.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 28.02.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 08.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 08.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.02.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.02.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 23.02.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 20.02.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 28.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.02.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 21.02.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 08.02.2012
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 08.02.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 21.02.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 23.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 28.02.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 21.02.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 23.02.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 23.02.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 08.02.2012