Early day motion 2698

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is proud to join the people of New Zealand in celebrating Waitangi Day, their national day, on 6 February, which in 2012 coincides with the sixtieth anniversary of Her Majesty the Queen's accession to the throne, in the year of Her Majesty's Diamond Jubilee, a day that commemorates the historic signing of the Treaty of Waitangi in 1840 and that marks the coming together of the Maori people and representatives of the British Crown; recognises the importance of maintaining the closest relations between the UK and New Zealand; cherishes the strong historical bond and unshakable friendship that exists between all the peoples of the British Isles and the islands of New Zealand; further recognises the shared heritage, common language, long-standing trading relationships and deeply interwined cultural, educational and military ties that exist between these great allies and Commonwealth members who also take pride in sharing Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State and Sovereign; and urges the UK Government to continue to foster and strengthen this special relationship that, despite the long distances that separate two nations that are oceans apart and on opposite corners of the Earth, continues to bind those two nations together.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 15

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 15 out of 15

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 08.02.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 08.02.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 28.02.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 23.02.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 23.02.2012
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 07.02.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 08.02.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 28.02.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 21.02.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 07.02.2012
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 06.02.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 20.02.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 07.02.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.02.2012
Stephenson, Andrew Conservative Party Pendle 07.02.2012