Early day motion 2688

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the moves by the General Synod of the Church of England to pass legislation permitting women to be bishops; notes that the Synod has now concluded its consultation with the dioceses on the Women in the Episcopate: draft Bishops and Priests (Consecration and Ordination of Women) Measure; further welcomes the result of those consultations, with 42 out of 44 dioceses voting in favour; is encouraged by the overwhelming support shown by 85 per cent. of bishops, 76 per cent. of clergy and 77 per cent. of the laity voting in favour; encourages the House of Bishops to commend the Measure for final approval as currently drafted; and calls on Her Majesty's Government to work with the governing authorities of the Church of England including the Archbishops' Council, the House of Bishops and the General Synod to ensure that the express wishes of the overwhelming majority of those consulted across the Provinces of Canterbury and York are met by expeditiously tabling the Measure in Parliament for its approval.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 06.03.2012
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 15.03.2012
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 29.02.2012
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 02.02.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.02.2012
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 15.03.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 07.02.2012
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 02.02.2012
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 02.02.2012
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 12.03.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 07.02.2012
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 06.02.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 06.02.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 07.02.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 07.02.2012
Johnson, Diana R Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 02.02.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 07.02.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 23.02.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.03.2012
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 02.02.2012
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 08.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.02.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 08.02.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 20.02.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 07.02.2012
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 02.02.2012
Stephenson, Andrew Conservative Party Pendle 07.02.2012
Timms, Stephen Labour Party East Ham 02.02.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.02.2012
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 23.04.2012
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 27.02.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 06.02.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 09.03.2012