Early day motion 2686

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that 2012 marks the golden anniversary of the establishment of Livingston new town as the fourth of Scotland's five post-war new towns; praises the remarkable progress made by the town during those 50 years, which has seen it grow from modest beginnings to become the economic hub of West Lothian and the seventh largest town or city in Scotland with a population of around 55,000; further notes that Livingston is recognised as one of the most popular business locations in Scotland, with a wide variety of local, UK-wide and international companies located in the area, and that the town's shopping centre has become one of the most frequented in Scotland, with one million square feet of retail space and 13 million shoppers visiting each year; applauds the fact that Livingston FC reached third position in the Scottish Premier League and qualified for the UEFA Cup within only seven years of the club being established in Livingston; commends the contributions of all those who have been associated with the planning and development of Livingston and its amenities over the past 50 years, as well as all of thetown's residents and groups for their enthusiasm and community spirit in helping to make it such a desirable location to live, work, relax and shop; and looks forward to Livingston's continued success in the years ahead.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 16

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 16 out of 16

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 23.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 07.02.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 07.02.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 06.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 06.02.2012
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 02.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 08.02.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 02.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.02.2012
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 06.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.02.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 02.02.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 06.02.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 02.02.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 02.02.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.02.2012