Early day motion 2677

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes rising homeless applications, overcrowding, repossessions, waiting lists and the threat to tenants' security, rents and housing benefit; believes it is time for an alternative to provide desperately needed homes for rent that are decent, secure, genuinely affordable and accountably run; welcomes the Housing Emergency coalition of tenants, trade unions, hon. Members, councillors, campaigners, faith groups and others; endorses their call for all who want sustainable, mixed communities across the UK to resist and campaign against cuts in housing benefit, call on landlords not to evict tenants who fall behind with their rent as a result of the new cuts in housing benefit, reject huge council rent rises driven by government debt and inflation formula, oppose the use of so-called `affordable (up to 80 per cent. of market) rent' and reject scapegoating; acknowledges that the shortage of housing is a result of underinvestment and failure to build and is not caused by existing or would-be tenants, in work or not, of whatever race or religion; and calls on the Government to defend security of tenure for existing and future tenants, regulate to control private sector rents and bring forward a programme of investment in new and improved council and other house building with secure tenancies and genuinely affordable rents.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 44

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 44 out of 44

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 23.02.2012
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 08.02.2012
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 20.02.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 20.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.02.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 06.02.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 28.02.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 29.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.02.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.02.2012
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 21.02.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 27.02.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 20.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 06.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 01.02.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 20.02.2012
Gardiner, Barry Labour Party Brent North 23.02.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 20.02.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 12.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 06.02.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 21.02.2012
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 27.02.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 02.02.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 08.02.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 06.02.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 23.02.2012
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 20.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.02.2012
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 12.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 02.02.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 20.02.2012
Michael, Alun Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 01.03.2012
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 01.02.2012
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 23.02.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 08.02.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 07.03.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 14.03.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.02.2012
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 22.03.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 07.02.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 20.02.2012
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 21.02.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 23.02.2012
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 20.02.2012